Sunday, December 4, 2016

Reviews for the Week of December 5, 2016

Note: Please see bottom of main page for submission info. Thank you.




PREVIEW:


MONSTRUMFUHRER by Ed Erdelac (to be released 1/24/17 by Comet Press / 388 pp / eBook)

World War II Franken-Nazis? JA BITTE and YES PLEASE. I was all grabby hands all over this one, and I went in thinking I'd get something like the Dead Snow movies, all crazy fight scenes with tanks and machine guns and roaring unkillable monsters.

Now, there is some of that, no worries ... but the actuality proves MUCH deeper, MUCH more profound, a wrenching and tragic look at the horrors of war, tortured dynamics of father-and-son relationships, race and ideology, pride, belief, ambition, survival, philosophy, brotherhood, the very nature of humanity and life, and the darkest insights into our collective psyches.

Ed Erdelac once again proves a master of historical fiction, as well as seamlessly blending literature into reality. Suppose the events in Frankenstein had actually happened? The experiment, the Creature, the final doomed Arctic confrontation? And suppose that Victor Frankenstein's journal eventually made its way into the wrong hands? Into the worst possible hands? Into Josef Mengele's hands?

The story itself is told from the point of view of Jotham, a young Jewish boy hiding out with his twin brother in the attic of a sympathetic neighbor ... where he discovers the very letters written by the ship captain of the polar expedition who met Frankenstein in the far north. The boys, caught and taken to Auschwitz, are placed in a special barracks where studies are being done upon twins. Studies led by Mengele.

Jotham's intelligence and facility with languages brings him to the doctor's personal attention, and he's chosen to become the doctor's errand boy. That the two of them, with their unique knowledge of and interest in the Frankenstein lore, should cross paths ... well, it's a coincidence so staggering it's only excusable because the characters themselves end up remarking upon and marveling at it.

Their goals, however, are very different. Mengele wants to create the unstoppable super-army, Jotham wants revenge and to end the Nazi threat. But, for each, the path to success seems to be finding out whether or not the original Creature -- a century and a half later -- might still be alive. If so, can the Creature be found? Persuaded to take sides?

The answer to at least one of those questions is 'yes,' but at what cost? How far, literally as well as figuratively, will Jotham go?

MONSTRUMFUHRER is not the feel-good read of the year by any means. It forces confrontation with many of the most uncomfortable topics there are, blurs the lines of good and evil, presses a chilling touch to several nerves, thrums with dark symbolism, and is just altogether a jaw-droppingly outstanding piece of work.

-Christine Morgan



REUNION by Dan Foley (2016 Grinning Skull Press / 264 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Ryan Lowell receives an invitation to attend his 50th high school reunion to be held in October of 2014. He hasn't been back to his small home town in years, and the invitation sparks memories of why.

REUNION flashes back to 1956 when Ryan and his best friend Bran confronted a deadly creature that lived in their local swimming area, and also to 1939, when police officer Dave Longo dealt with the same creature's parent. He had help defeating it then, but in 1956 he ends up going after it on his own.

Foley mainly shifts between the two decades, and while the 2014 segments are brief, everything builds up nicely to Ryan's inevitable battle with yet another creature, which we learn is an American Indian legend known as an "Oniare," a snake like, 10-foot long reptilian beast with rows of jagged teeth and skinny arms that end in razor sharp claws. It seems this intelligent creature is driven to find hosts for its offspring, and nothing works better than human bodies...

This is a well written, fast paced read (I blasted through it in one sitting), and a fine bet for fans of the underwater monster subgenre. Those looking for surprises may be a bit disappointed, as REUNION is a straight-ahead, no-frills monster mash. But Foley's characters are engaging enough to make the familiar story interesting, and the creature itself is a creepy, slick blend of ANACONDA and ALIEN. One funeral scene in 1956 is genuinely heartbreaking, and helps us to cheer on Ryan's final confrontation in the modern day.

For monster fanatics, and also a great beach read next summer. Just make sure you don't sit too close to the shore line...

-Nick Cato




HOLLOW HOUSE by Greg Chapman (2016 Omnium Gatherum / 226 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

This is the first book I’ve read by the author and it won’t be the last. HOLLOW HOUSE packs a rather dark punch with a very different take on the classic haunted house tale. It is innovative, hip, fresh, new and modern in all the right ways. Chapman truly is an excellent storyteller and writer. He tackles a rather hard obstacle here by utilizing a mass character-driven concept that takes his story to an all new level. I believe there is somewhere around fifteen well-constructed characters complete with their own stories, centering their focus around one large story. The author does an exceptional job with these characters, too. They are well thought out and believable. They are loveable, hateable, fun, heroic, dark, suicidal, and demented. We get an honest and true feel for each and every one of them.

The tale immediately takes us to the strange house at the corner of Willow Street. There’s a putrid scent coming from the old gothic style home and it has the entire street fearing for their lives and worked up in quite a tizzy. The Kemper House, built by Eric Kemper in 1886 is truly one of a kind (or is it?) with as much character and surprise as one might imagine from an abandoned house rumored to be haunted. And where is that smell coming from and why? Does anybody even live there anymore? That’s what Ben Traynor, a neighboring reporter from the local gazette wants to know, going at dangerous measures to figure out the mystery, not to mention type up another award winning front page article. But, the cops? They can’t quite seem to figure it all out either. All we know is there’s a body inside. There’s no signs of forced entry, and, the victim (deceased and unidentifiable) appears to have sliced his own body up beyond recognition. The only statement on record is that the crime is just as heinous as it is horrific, and they’re looking into signs of the occult and foul play.

The story keeps you on the edge of your seat as the plot thickens and more bodies disappear. There are ghosts, demons, a strange cult, and even the beast himself in this one. Pay attention. The killer may be a lot closer than you think.

Recommended for fans of Horror, Dark, and Weird Fiction alike.

-Jon R. Meyers



BONESPIN SLIPSPACE by Leo X. Robertson (2016 Psychedelic Horror Press / 70pp / trade paperback)

So, a book arrives unexpectedly in my mailbox. I knew nothing of it or its author; I had no idea what it was about or what I was in for. Psychedelic cover, from Psychedelic Horror Press. All things considered, that sure did set the stage.

The title -- BONESPIN SLIPSPACE -- may upon first glance seem incomprehensible, even nonsensical. Yet, sneakily, insidiously, the title is a perfect description. The interior illustrations, stark black/white/grey and bold shapes, initially give the impression of almost coloring-book simplicity, but upon closer inspection prove both creepy and surreal.

What's it about? Y'know, that's hard to say, and even if I somehow could say, I don't think I would. I get the idea it's different for everyone, the way a funhouse hall of mirrors is different for everyone, reflecting back what you take in with you.

The nearest I can attempt to explain it is ... imagine if the Marquis de Sade threw a party at Hotel California, in Hell.

When Ollie invites his friends Rudy and Tammy to this exclusive event at mysterious Blackburn Manor, he does so with the best of intentions, even though he should know as well as anybody how things go ... the sex, the torture, the depravity. But even Ollie has no idea what ultimate fate is in store for them ...whether it's a fate worse than death or not is impossible to determine, but it is certainly a fate weirder than death.

Forget mind-bending ... this is a mind-twisting read, this is a mind-corkscrew, this is mind-macrame, unraveling and re-knotting with greater complexity at every turn of the page.

-Christine Morgan



CRAWLERS by Ray Garton (2016 RGB Publishing / 100pp / eBook)

This book was originally published in 2006 by Cemetery Dance Publications as a signed Limited Edition Hardcover and since then has been out of print. So, I was super excited to hear that it was just recently re-released as an eBook so I could finally check it out for myself. It was definitely worth the wait. This book is awesome!

Think of some of those old black and white B-Rated Horror flicks. Or, Attack of the Killer Tomatoes, Mosquito (one of my favorites), maybe even Mars Attacks! for example. But, instead of killer tomatoes, annoying squawking aliens, and giant blood sucking proboscis’, picture a test run on potential world domination, global takeover by evil black suits, a government conspiracy disguised as a meteor shower, said suits spraying mystery fog onto your front lawn, to wake up and find a bunch of strange flowers everywhere. It’s the talk of the town. They are literally everywhere. Flowers that kill, that is! They eventually pop off their stems and turn into vicious brain suckers, attaching onto the forehead of its victims before tapping into their brain piece and controlling them to congregate and do terrible things together.

The small town of Mt. Crag has never seen such a sight for sore eyes. Thank goodness the country folks there keep enough guns and ammunition on hand to put up a good fight. But, is it enough for the killer flowers crawling around their town? Is the world doomed once and for all? I guess you’ll have to read it for yourself and find out. Garton keeps his prose short, sweet, and straight to the point in this one, making it a true page turner and a doomsday masterpiece that has enough power to withstand the hands of time.

Highly recommended.

-Jon R. Meyers


PREVIEW:


BODY ART by Kristopher Triana (to be released 12/15/16 by Blood Bound Books / 207 pp / eBook)

And here I thought, silly me, I'd be getting a story about tattoos, maybe piercings ... wow, was I ever wrong! At least I caught on quick; hard not to when the first sentence of the prologue is a guy stitching corpse-parts together in a quest for perfect beauty.

This is way more. This goes far further. Then further still. Then, right when you're sure it's reached the absolute limit, the door gets kicked off the hinges because baby you ain't seen nothin' yet. Soon, a little Frankensteinian patchwork necrophilia seems mild by comparison.

We are talking serious hardcore extreme messed-up-to-the-max stuff here. The mortician piecing together his ideal woman will eventually discover his art has gone beyond taking on a life of its own. A filmmaker recruits a famed but aging porn queen for his underground fetish film, with no idea what they're really getting themselves into. Even the neighbors who sneak over for a peek get drawn into the maelstrom of unholy perversity.

Not much is off-limits. About every sex act you can imagine (and several nobody ever should!) make their appearance within these pages, as well as acts of torture, mutilation, cannibalism, dismemberment, defilement, humiliation, bloodlust, and sheer monstrous inhumanity.

So, being warped as I am, I enjoyed it greatly even if I was doing my patented flinch-and-squick routine most of the time. Definitely going to look for more from this author, who's definitely poised for a place alongside the likes of Wrath James White and Monica J. O'Rourke.

-Christine Morgan



MANIA by Lucas Magnum (2016 Doom Kitten Press / 103 pp / eBook)

The notion of a cursed book is nothing new ... and we've had our lore of unlucky theatrical productions (Scottish Play, anyone?) ... evil video tapes ... curses on the production set or later smiting the cast and crew of films ... but a cursed script, the very script/screenplay itself, makes for an interesting twist-take on the subject.

The only other thing close I can think of offhand is of course "The King in Yellow," in its mysterious and maddening vague oblique strangeness, while the story-behind-the-story of Mania is more direct. A Hollywood legend of an anonymous screenplay, itself telling the tragic tale of a nameless murdered actress, but it's never been successfully filmed. Previous attempts all ended badly, with breakdowns and deaths.

Now, though, cult/indie director William Ward has gotten his hands on the script. He thinks it might help him escape the long shadow of his movie-mogul father's legacy, make his own mark. He feels a connection to the main character and wants to see the movie finally made.

He also doesn't believe in curses. They never do, do they? Not until it's too late. The first few incidents get passed off as coincidence, nobody wants to talk about the weird experiences they've had. Once Ward DOES believe, his only hope is to find a way to break the curse before it claims him and his leading lady as its next victims.

A solid, fun, and engaging read ... which, ironically enough, would make a neat movie ...

-Christine Morgan



CONTROL by Ed Kurtz (2013 Nightscape Press / 308 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Lulled by THE FORTY-TWO's gritty starkness and the lush noir decadence of ANGLE OF THE ABYSS (see earlier reviews), I moved on to the next in my stack of Ed Kurtz books without initially realizing this one didn't have anything to do with movie-making, movie-houses, or the ephemeral dreams of the silver screen.

BUGS IT'S BUGS OH MY GOD *squicky bugdance* eew eew creepycrawly all the bugs! Except, wait, it's more than bugs. It's bugs and fungus, it's infestation, it's those weird rain forest zombified ants and stuff you read about, from the fuming fecund jungles where people shouldn't go.

But people do go, and people bring things back. Things for which other people, who should know better, might pay lots and lots of money. Everybody needs a hobby, after all. Leon's hobby is collecting bugs. Scorpions, millipedes, spiders. Sorry to be specist; I know there are differences between insects and arachnids and all that, but bugs is bugs is bugs.

Leon's latest acquisition, unbeknownst to him, includes a special bonus: a freaky green spore-thing that does what freaky green spore-things do. It grows, it spreads, it contaminates, it eventually kills all the little multi-legged creepycrawlies with which it makes contact.

The effect it has on Leon himself, however, proves unusual. He discovers he can bend the will of others, force them to obey his every command. To a guy who's a loner and a loser and an outcast, this sudden power is a twisted dream come true. The job he hates, everyone who's bullied him, the girls he's never dared talk to ... well, all that's about to change.

Probably it's weird of me, but I was relieved when the story moved away from the bug stuff to the human atrocity stuff, though I was still in for a few squicky bug-related shocks along the way, eew eew eew. The human atrocities are no slouches in the flinch department either, let me assure you, and several characters memorably demonstrate that we're often enough the real monsters even without any fungal spore-thing assists.

-Christine Morgan

~~~~~~~~~~~

THE HORROR FICTION REVIEW wishes you a happy holiday season and a GREAT new year. See you in early 2017!

Sunday, November 20, 2016

Reviews for the Week of November 21, 2016

NOTE: Please see bottom of main page for submission info. We're serious. Read it. Or you will be confused as to why we haven't answered your email / FB message / tweet. Seriously. READ IT. Thank you...





CREEPING WAVES by Matthew M. Bartlett (2016 Muzzleland Press / 272 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Continuing the same vibe he created in GATEWAYS TO ABOMINATION (2014) and THE WITCH-CULT IN WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS (2015), Bartlett brings us back to the mysterious town of Leeds, revealing more of it's dark history and mysterious residents.

For those not in the know, a radio station (WXXT) lures people to Leeds with its strange broadcasts. And once there, hapless visitors are confronted with everything from devil worshippers to flying leeches to a woman who sells the most unusual of books. The short chapters in CREEPING WAVES latently introduce us to some of the town's more infamous figures and historical events, and several are nothing short of terrifying. And while Bartlett uses some dark humor at times, there's a real sinister feel to everything, even when we think he's going for an all-out laugh.

Among my favorites here are 'Baal Protects the King (Part 1)', where a young priest discovers Leeds' ancient evil; 'The Egg,' in which a new chicken farmer brings an unusual egg into his home and the violent affects it has on his family; 'Rangel,' where a man, continually haunted by the disappearance of his younger sister, returns to Leeds after moving to the west coast: this one really got under my skin. Finally, 'The Massachusetts State Trooper' is a prime example of the author's bizarre style of horror, unsettling and as eerie as it gets.

With glimpses into Leeds' personal ads, haunting phone calls, and the sense that nothing is at it seems, CREEPING WAVES is another excellent entry in Bartlett's growing occult series. Well written, scary, and completely absorbing, you'll surely be weary of turning your radio dial down to the lower numbers.

-Nick Cato



SIX SCARY STORIES edited by Stephen King (2016 Cemetery Dance Publications / 200 pp / hardcover, trade paperback, & eBook)

When you ask Stephen King to judge a competition, ask him to select a winner from the six best stories narrowed down by experienced literary types, from a field of hundreds of submissions ... when you say, okay, Steve, here's our top six, now you pick ONE ...

Well, we're talking Stephen-freakin'-KING here, people. He did what they wanted, he picked one, but he also deemed the other five just too damn good to leave behind. And, being a guy with a certain degree of influence, certain connections, certain heft, he was readily able to find a publisher willing to take on the task.

I'm glad he did, because they really are pretty good. The book itself is a slim, sleek, lovely thing, which is available both in trade paperback and luxurious hardcover. The introduction offers a tantalizing glimpse behind some industry scenes as to how the competition and end result came about.

As for the stories themselves, well, in the introduction, Mr. King makes a point of mentioning how he doesn't want to say too much about them, give too much away. So, I won't either, but will try to provide a teensy teaser for each:

'Wild Swimming' by Elodie Harper, the winning tale, opens the book and is told in the form of a series of emails from a young woman whose adventuresome sport/hobby brings her to a lake perhaps best left undisturbed.

In 'Eau-de-Eric,' by Manuela Saragosa, a widowed mother isn't sure what to do about her daughter's attachment to a disturbing new stuffed animal.

'The Spots' by Paul Bassett Davies, provides an interesting examination of duty, loyalty, blindness, cognitive dissonance, and perception.

'The Unpicking' by Michael Button was my personal favorite of the bunch, a nasty-chilling little take on what toys get up to while the household sleeps.

'La Mort De L'Amant' by Stuart Johnstone, has a rustic, tragic feel with unsettling undertones and better-unanswered questions that linger long after the story's done.

'The Bear Trap' by Neil Hudson finishes things off with the grim tale of a kid left on his own to look after the place until his father returns, though it's sure been a long time.

-Christine Morgan




THE NIGHT PARADE by Ronnald Malfi (2016 Kensington Press / 384 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

THE NIGHT PARADE takes us to the end of times on a hot pursuit, doomsday kind of ride alongside David and his unique daughter, Ellie. They’ve got six hundred bucks, a change of clothes, and a handgun in a duffel bag in the backseat, not to mention what may be the only key left to saving the world. At first it seems like David has kidnapped his daughter and is on the run from her Mom, but if you stick with it a little bit longer, there are much stranger things going on.

There is a nasty virus spreading, Wander’s Folly. Although, a cheesy name for such a dreadful virus, one causing a worldwide epidemic, it definitely isn’t something to mess around with. It has already killed all the birds. And nobody knows exactly how the Folly is spread. We only know that one doesn’t want to catch it because it makes it's recipients go mad, a disease of the mind, a constant state of nightmarish hallucinations so real that you believe them, not to mention it's accompanied by terrible headaches, nosebleeds, and once infected you are entirely unable to decipher dream from reality.

We eventually find out David didn’t kidnap his daughter. He’s just a loving dad in fear of the government taking her away from him like they did his wife. Ellie, too, finds this out after overhearing it on the news at a diner by accident, her Mom is dead, but something doesn’t add up. On the news they said it was a suicide and they (David and Ellie) are now on the most wanted list for questioning. Innocent fugitives on the run. But, why you ask? They didn’t kill her. And David knows for a fact that she didn’t commit suicide. It’s all just part of a big cover up. The doctors drained her and made her weak during extensive testing. A simple blood test resulted in her demise and the fact that she was immune to the Folly. She may have been the only key on this planet to cure it. After she passes we discover Ellie has the same rare blood as her mom. The doctors, feds, and hazmat suits won’t stop for anything until they catch them. Ellie also discovers around this time that she has new found superpowers. She can heal and control people’s emotions, pulling out the bad and replacing it with good. She has had her powers ever since she can remember and they’re getting stronger by the minute. Will David be able to keep his daughter safe from the powers that be and their extreme medical testing before he too gets sick and dies from the Folly like the rest of the world?

I guess you’ll have to read it for yourself and find out.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book and would recommend it to any fans of Horror and Science Fiction alike.

-Jon R. Meyers



ISLAND RED by Matt Serafini (2016 Severed Press / 222 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

I picked this one up with the idea it'd be your basic summer vacation gorefest creature feature, nightmares in paradise as something ravenous from the deep chows down on an endless buffet of bikini-babes and stubborn tourists who paid too much to listen to advice about avoiding the beach.

The way the book starts off, with a young couple going for a sexy moonlight swim despite a grim warning from the grizzled one-eyed old-timer, certainly supports that anticipated narrative ... you just know an aquatic terror is about to show up ...

Which it does, in the form of a large frilled shark, but by the time the shark makes the scene, our sexy young couple are already dead. Burnt and blackened, char-broiled, sizzling crispy critters. And the shark, who'd only been doing the natural thing of investigating a potential free cooked meal, finds itself a sudden victim, the unwilling but helpless host to a far more malevolent entity.

So, as if the basic primal fear of being eaten by sea monsters isn't enough, it gets worse. Several other basic primal fears are added to the mix -- infection, possession, parasitic takeover, loss of control. Not to mention being isolated on a remote island (with a hurricane bearing down, of course), the confusion and panic, trapped desperation, and not-unjustified paranoia brought on by a huge circling dead-black warship.

All this, plus the human drama elements, as the enforcer for a ruthless crime boss has been given one last chance, and a divorced dad tries to rebuild his relationship with his teenage son, and a missing young woman's secrets threaten to expose several sleazy truths.

And there I'd been, expecting a simple SyFy formulaic chomp-o-rama ... to say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement, because not only did ISLAND RED give me a wild action-thriller-mystery ride, it also proved to be damn well written. A little choppy in places, maybe, with some abrupt transitions and some elements left unexplained or lost in the shuffle, but with that much going on, at such a cranked-up pace, it's easy to forgive.

-Christine Morgan



MAGAZINES:


BLACK STATIC (Issue No. 54)

This issue's fiction is comprised of three novelettes and one short story, kicking off with Steven J. Dines' 'Perspective,' which uses various points of view to tell the tale of Emily, a woman who has lost her sight as a result of stress that became too much for her in light of dealing with a stalker. The sections told from the person who raped Emily when she was a teenager are especially unsettling, and Dines does a fine job making us feel both Emily's blindness and her husband David's growing frustration as he deals with her handicap both mentally and physically.

Julie C. Day's 'A Pinhole of Light' is quite a unique ghost story: In an attempt to speak with his late wife, photographer Geir discovers a way to communicate with the dead by developing photographs on his skin (trust me, it sounds out there but it works). Geir's system comes at a price, which not only leaves him completely drained, but bothers his young daughter Jenny, who is busy painting a mural on her bedroom wall with her uncle Peter. She hopes it will take her father's mind off his wife and inspire him to abandon his occult practice. The shortest tale of the issue, yet the most epic in scope.

In Ralph Robert Moore's 'Not Everything Has a Name,' A tall man named Ben meets Tommy and Sheila at a bar, and after a game of pool, he winds up taking Sheila home with him. Ben's a bit older than her, and also a widower. Moore gives this the feel of a classic noir story, but at the halfway point nothing is as it seems and the conclusion will surely surprise most readers.

I'm not one for werewolf stories, but Malcolm Devlin's 'Dogsbody' is a fresh look at them. Gil, who had been part of a group who were infected with a lyncanthropic virus, became a werewolf for only a few hours. But it has changed his life in ways far worse than the physical transformation. Devlin's tale focuses more on the aftermath of Gil's incident and offers much thought into the nature of mankind itself. While all four stories this issue are excellent, this was easily my favorite.

Opening non fiction columns by Stephen Volk and Lynda E. Rucker will get your blood flowing (especially Volk's piece on violence in the genre), and Peter Tennant delivers an insightful interview with Damien Angelica Walters after his usual barrage of book reviews, this time focusing on Lovecraftian anthologies. Gary Couzen's dvd/blu-ray reviews cap the issue, and as much as I follow the genre I had no idea the classic giallo film 'The Bloodstained Butterfly' had been released from Arrow Films. Thanks, Gary, for helping to shrink my wallet!

You're still not reading BLACK STATIC? Correct that right here: BLACK STATIC

-Nick Cato



~~~~~~~~~~~
COMING SOON:


Monday, November 7, 2016

Reviews for the Week of November 7, 2016

NOTE: Please see bottom of main page for submission info. Thank you.





ANGEL OF THE ABYSS by Ed Kurtz (2014 Dark Fuse / 322 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Technically, the noir era was more 1930s/1940s, and this book is set during the early 1920s and modern day, but something about it feels steeped in noir throughout. It's brooding and sensuous, dark and fraught, turbulent, forbidden, laden with cold-smoldering intrigue.

Plot-wise, it's about a silent film, a movie called Angel of the Abyss, its subject matter taboo and controversial even as it's being made. For lovely young actress, Grace Baron, it might be her big break. For director Jack Parson, it's a chance to make a statement. For others in the industry, it could mean trouble.

Fast-forward nearly a hundred years, and Angel of the Abyss has become long-lost and semi-legendary, all but unknown except to the most dedicated experts and aficionados. Rising star Grace Baron vanished under suspicious circumstances, one of those enduring Hollywood mysteries to this day.

When film restorer Graham gets a call out of the blue from the nice ladies of the Silent Film Appreciation Society, who've found a surviving reel and want him to work on it, he can't resist the chance. Nor can his wayward devil-may-care buddy Jake resist tagging along.

Of course, there are still people who don't want the movie to be restored, people who will go to any lengths to keep it lost. Even (dramatic music) murrrr-der. Graham and Jake learn that the hard way, but by then they are in too deep to just walk away.

The historical segments are particularly handled with a beautiful believability and skill, a time-travel experience through Prohibition and other issues of the time. I found it an engrossing, hypnotic, fascinating read.

-Christine Morgan



THE WINTER TREE by Alison Littlewood (2016 White Noise Press / 24 pp / limited edition chapbook)

"Whatever is the matter?" she said.
"Nothing my dear," I replied, unfortunately at that moment removing my hand to reveal the pale grey kid of my glove crimsoned with a drop of blood.

Littlewood's turn of the century (sort of) ghost story is a haunting look at a man who believes he has married the wrong woman. We're not sure if protagonist Arthur Geddes is slowly losing his mind due to his recent revelation or if he's being hit with a wave of guilt in the wake of his mother's passing. Either way, THE WINTER TREE is a quick and satisfying read that asks us to draw our own conclusions.

As always, White Noise Press delivers an absolutely beautiful book collectors will want, highlighted by Keith Minnion's artwork and snazzy end papers.


Grab one here while you still can: The Winter Tree

-Nick Cato



LARRY by Adam Millard (2014 Crowded Quarantine Publications / 242 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Everything I've read by Adam Millard has been an absolute delight, a real kick in the head, witty and hilarious, winking-sly fun. In this one, he takes on the slasher genre, to terrific effect.

Thirty-some years ago, when the whole concept of crazed killers butchering horny teenagers was just starting out, a guy with a pig mask and a hatchet carved his way through Camp Diamond Creek. His bloody reign of terror only ended when one final girl sprung all these new rules on him, and left him to burn to death.

Well, presumably. We all know how that goes. Pigface survived, but retired. Hung up his mask and his ax. He's been living with his crone of a mother ever since, both of them getting older and older and more and more infirm. Now Pigface, a.k.a. Larry, is feeling the urge for a last killing spree before he's too decrepit.

It just so happens that a new group of horny teenagers is about to descend on the camp. Which hasn't aged well either, but still offers plenty of opportunities for underage drinking and romantic romps ... and various creatively messy ends.

No stone is left unturned in terms of homages. Tropes are troped, stereotypes are played with. A must-read of epic hilarity, while taking on our society's very real fears of aging and the struggle of trying to keep up with the times.


-Christine Morgan


PREVIEW:


STARR CREEK by Nathan Carson (to be released 11/15/16 by Lazy Fascist Press / trade paperback)

Just lately, with nostalgia running high, anything set in the 1980s is going to draw inevitable comparisons to STRANGER THINGS, so I might as well get it out of my system. STARR CREEK is like STRANGER THINGS all grown up and wack out of its mind on drugs.

It's rural 1980s Oregon rolled in LSD, a cavalcade of weirdness that opens with a dog-food-eating contest and escalates so rapidly that by the time you get to the really out-there stuff, you kind of just have to take it in stride.

Let me tell you, though, there's a lot of out-there stuff, and it's pretty brain-bending to say the least. The bit with the dog food (which I'd had the, uh, let's go with 'pleasure' of hearing the author read from on a couple of occasions) is a gorge-clenching piece of work to be sure, and it's only the warm-up; it's one of the most normal parts of the whole book.

Fittingly enough, the kibble competition features a guy called Puppy, whose family tends toward the casual when it comes to names, as well as things like, oh, say, schooling, hygiene, the law, and incest taboos. Puppy's not popular, and he's also not someone to cross. But, even Puppy isn't ready for the convergence of events headed Starr Creek's way.

Packed to the rafters with tripping teens, backwoods rednecks, biker gangs, hippie communes, meddling kids, and kooky cultists of various description ... a meander down a psychedelic memory lane of Dungeons and Dragons, heavy metal music, classic arcade games and television ... with nods and winks at everything from Lovecraft to E.T. ... yeah, STARR CREEK will take you places, whether you were an 80's kid or not!


-Christine Morgan



MAGAZINES:



CEMETERY DANCE (Issue #74/75)

Headed by incredible cover art courtesy of Vincent Chong, this double-sized Joe Hill special issue is packed to the gills with great fiction and feature articles.

After an excerpt from Hill's novel THE FIREMAN, we're treated to an all-new novella titled SNAPSHOT, 1988 (also by Joe Hill), about a man recalling his younger days as an overweight nerd who spent much time with his elderly nanny, then helped her in his teen years as she became the target of a strange man whose Polaroid camera robs people of their memory. Powerful stuff and part of a forthcoming 4-novella collection.

As for the rest of this issue's fiction offerings:

-THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT by Lisa Morton: A best selling author meets a rich family she wrote about. She falls in love with one of their sons and discovers an ancient family curse. Creepy, classic styled horror.

-MATTER by Josh Malerman: A young boy roots for his aunt, who is convinced she has found a way to walk through walls. Brief yet effective.

-BAD LUCK by K.S. Clay: Crazed man enters veterinarian's office requesting his cat be euthanized. Not due to illness, but a curse. A tight little suspense yarn.

 -SEED by Erinn L. Kemper: A social worker is recruited by a most unusual family.

-AUTOPHAGY by Ray Garton: An all too real political/social commentary ... with monsters. One of the best of the issue.

-THE BLUE HOUSE by Bruce McAllister: A mysterious house and a young girl who hangs around it provide life changing events for a young summer ranch hand.  A beautifully told ghost story.

-THE LAZARUS EFFECT by JG Faherty: Twin God-fearing brothers head a group of survivors during a zombie plague. A fresh, religious take on a tired subgenre.

-INDIA BLUE by Glen Hirschberg: A young San Bernadino man is hired to work the PA for a new cricket league at an old sports arena. A cricket legend known as The Destroyer is among the small crowd of spectators in Hirschberg's wonderfully weird entry. This would make one hell of a midnight movie.

-EYES LIKE POISONED WELLS by Ian Rogers: A private investigator is hired by a rich man to locate a rare missing sword that has been stolen from his estate. But the PI becomes the target of his employer's rage. A well done creature feature.

Among the non fiction features:

-A nice interview and history of Joe Hill's fiction by Bev Vincent and Peter Crowther.

-Thomas Monteleone with another great column, this time even extra ballsy (if you can believe that!) as he explains his distaste over the new WFC award.

-Michael Marano looks at 3 recent blockbuster films and gives his two cents on why he believes they're stroke jobs.

-Mark Sieber on how NOT to sell books at a horror convention.

-An excellent interview with publisher Paul Goblirsch of Thunderstorm Books.

-Bev Vincent, Richard Chizmar, and Stewart O'Nan revisit King's PET SEMATARY.

-Plenty of book reviews including two feature-length reviews by Bev Vincent.

I wouldn't mind every issue of CD being a double issue so long as it holds the same quality as this one, that's as beautiful to look at as it is to read. Seriously...this thing's a real gem for any horror fan's shelf.

Grab your copy here (in 2nd printing trade edition or limited signed hardcover): Cemetery Dance Issue 74/74

-Nick Cato

~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Reviews for the Week of October 24, 2016

NOTE: Please see bottom of main page for submission info. Thank you.





SHOCKER by Armand Rosamilia and Frank Edler (2016 Rymfire Books / 130 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Manny "Dirty" Sanchez is placed in the cell of Vito "The Shocker" Shocketti at Rahway State Penitentiary in NJ. Currently on his 20th year of a life sentence, Vito wonders if his young new cell mate is a spy for the police or a genuine criminal. He slowly gains his trust and trades food for stories about his violent and crazy past, most of which took place in the 1980s around the NJ heavy metal scene.

It turns out Vito had been raised by nuns at an orphanage (one who was his aunt). But he ended up getting thrown out after he was caught having sex with a young nun in a confessional booth at the age of 13, and has since been on the streets.

Most of SHOCKER is Vito telling Manny his crazy past hi-jinks, which include him being controlled by a statue of the Baby Jesus he had seen while at the orphanage. The statue shows up all through the story, commanding him to kill and have sex with all kinds of metal heads down the Jersey Shore and around some iconic former NJ rock clubs. Reader be warned this is some real "guy" humor, and if you weren't a metalhead in the 80s some of it may go right over your head.

But for those of us who grew up in this scene, there are a lot of references and situations that are hilarious despite the authors' twisted take on them. I did find it funny that a guy as tough and crazy as Vito Shocketti would be a fan of such wimpy bands as DANGER DANGER and BON JOVI, but hey, in the 80s I guess even the toughest dude would listen to such crap if it meant getting down some girl's pants, which here is our protagonist's main goal in life. Funny also is the anti-Staten Island commentary, which I (as a Staten Islander) actually found hilarious, as what is said here is practically the same thing we Noo Yawkers used to say about the Jersey metalheads! Ah, to be back in the 80s once again...

In the end, Vito finds out who Dirty Sanchez really is, and, guided by the Baby Jesus, are off on an adventure to be continued in the second part of this planned trilogy.

SHOCKER is a wicked fun read, especially for metalheads or anyone interested in the 80s metal club scene. The authors blend horror, humor, and some really bizarre situations to make this jailhouse thriller a real blast of trashy goodness.

I'm looking forward to the recently released SHOCKER 2: LOVE GUN...

-Nick Cato



REJECTED FOR CONTENT 3 AND 4 edited by Jim Goforth (2015/2016 J. Ellington Ashton Press / approx 300 pp each / trade paperback & eBook)

Then there’s those awkward moments when your co-worker makes a big disapproving speech about some regular mass-market paperback crime thriller she found in the bookshelf just out in the common room, and how a book like this shouldn’t BE here in this facility, it’s all full of rape and violence … and you’re sitting there reading the third of the REJECTED FOR CONTENT anthologies …

Well, I figured at that point I might as well go for broke and read the third AND the fourth and review them both in one mondo equivalent of binge-watching. So, I did. Yes, my brain feels all dirty (or, dirtier; let’s be realistic here, it was far from spotless when I started).

Made for a whooooooole lot of nasty, let me tell you! The lineup of authors alone should be a warning of the level of hardcore grossness you’re getting yourself into; K. Trap Jones, Amanda Lyons, Stephen Kozeniewski, the Sisters of Slaughter, T.S. Woolard, John Ledger …

I had a feeling I’d be in for a rough time of it, narrowing down my top picks to mention in this review, but, here we go!

“What’s In A Name” by Toneye Eyenot starts off the Vicious Vengeance of RFC 3 with the atrocity-meter cranked to maxx, no holds barred, as a grieving father seeks revenge for the unthinkable. It certainly sets the tone for the rest of the book! If you can make it through this one, you’ll probably be okay. Maybe.

Other faves from that volume: Ian McClellan’s “Justice,” a soul-shredder with nuances of Jack Ketchum; Lisa Dabrowski’s short-sweet-beautiful poem “Alabaster Skin;” the disturbingly sexy “In The Black Room, We Are Not Allowed To Speak,” by Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason; “Waist Deep” by Matthew Weber; and Ash Hartwell’s “Care Plan 13.”

The subtitle of RFC 4 is Highway to Hell (pictured above), with the theme of highways, be they metaphorical or literal ... the journey, the transition, the travel ... when it isn't so much where you're going as how you get there.

I think the creepiest of Vol. 4's offerings is "Miss_Vertebrae" by Eric LaRocca, though as something of a fastidious crazy-cat-lady in training myself, I can't deny a certain affection for "Little Miss Persnickety Jayne" by Mark Woods. I also got a sick kick out of the Last-House-on-the-Left vibe in William Bradley's "S.O.A.P;" Brian Glossup delivers an unlikely team-up adventure in "Hit N Run;" "The First Cut" by T.S. Woolard, shows turnabout isn't always fair play; and a deadly dose of revenge porn stars in James H. Longmore's "Snuffed: Fifty Shades of F*cked Up."

As a fun bonus, one trademark of the RFC series is the little 'rejection letters' included at the ends of the stories. Whether the real deal or not, one can't help but smirk and snicker at the notion of some unsuspecting slushpile reader or editor getting a surprise eyeful of these fiendish offerings.

-Christine Morgan



IT CAME FROM ANOMALY FLATS by Clayton Smith (2016 Dapper Press / 182 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Okay, I picked this book up on a whim while trolling the new Horror releases on Amazon. It immediately caught my interest for two reasons (aside from the fact it’s a new Horror collection and I’m naturally a big sucker for a good ole’ short horror story). One, the beautifully violent and horrific cover art sporting these massive green tentacles, a stereotypical suburban soccer mom, and large, shiny daggers, and, two, the intriguing book description.

The author introduces us to a recurring setting that takes place in this strange and horrific place found within all nine stories, Anomaly Flats. It’s this little cyber town of doom and horror, if you will. Think green ooze, rotting corpses, strange creatures, UFOs, black magic and pink laser beams meets short horror stories of yesteryear. A couple of my personal favorites were "The Time Capsule,' a story about time travel to kick things off.  'Aberration,' a fun romp through an abandoned minor league baseball field, while father and son spend some not so quality time together bonding over potential jail time, or even worse, DEATH! 'The Invitation,' a skillfully innovative take on the classic haunted house tale, one where the reader may be in more danger than they realize before beginning the story in the first place. Not to mention haunted by a witch, you say? Yes, please.

Recommended for fans of Horror, Dark, and Science Fiction alike.

-Jon R. Meyers



STRANDED by Bracken MacLeod (2016 Tor / 300 pp / hardcover, eBook, audiobook)

On their way to bring supplies to an oil rig near the north pole, the crew of the 'Artic Promise' start experiencing weird occurences: it seems the ice has frozen their ship in place, their radio equipment stops working (despite not being broken), and as far as the eye can see it appears the whole ocean has frozen solid. Among the colorful cast of crewman is Noah Cabot, a low man on the totem pole, who is constantly treated unfairly by his father-in-law William Brewster. The two have a difficuly history, which is revealed in pieces over the coarse of the story.

With the threat of running out of food and water, the crew decides to travel on foot to a mysterious mountain of snow, which they believe could be the oil rig. It turns out to be another ship frozen in place, and to his utter shock, Noah finds a fellow deckhand from his own ship onboard...a friend who died a year earlier.

STRANDED is a suspense-filled thriller dealing with dopplegangers, shadow people, and a supernatural element that blends believably into the happenings. Comparisons to John Carpenter's THE THING come to mind, but to me more so SURVIVE, the 1976 film dealing with the true tagedy of a rugby team who fought for survival in the Andes mountains after their plane crashed. MacLeod takes this type of survival tale and twists it in a way all his own, highlighted by some dazzling prose from the very first page.

If you're an agoraphobic, this one will mess with your mind on a few levels, and even if you're not this is a creepy-as-it-gets novel that will surely get under your frostbitten skin.

-Nick Cato


PREVIEW:


I MISS THE WORLD by Violet LeVoit (to be released 11/18/16 by Publisher: King Shot Press / trade paperback)

I read this one start to finish with hardly any breaks. Luckily, though I read it at work, that was a night the residents all slept through; if they'd been up and around and needy and making me actually, y'know, do my job, we might've had some disputes. I did NOT want to be interrupted.

From the opening scene, something so visual, so archetypal, so ultimately Los Angeles -- a naked blonde poised to leap from the roof of a plastic surgery clinic -- the reader is inexorably drawn into a world where nothing is what it seems. Where appearances are one thing, appearances, face-value, facades, rose-tinted glasses and sepia-tinted reminiscence ... but where even deception itself is deceiving.

The first half or so of the book, I was riding a nostalgia wave so intense I had to remind myself to breathe. Maybe a long, rambling conversation about memories of Grandma's house wouldn't have that effect on everyone, but it hit me right in some emotional nerve cluster, a soul-ar plexus if you will.

Yes, okay, there was the jumper at the beginning, and one might've anticipated that story, her story, to be the central plot, but it proves to be only an incidental moment as a sister and brother meet in a Hollywood cemetery for the abovementioned long conversation. Which also covers the intricacies of screenwriting and casting, various movie-making and silver-screen history, and deep personal issues.

It's like listening in on a painful, intimate disclosure, compelling and addictive. And, gradually, in the briefest tap and lightest brushing of disquiet, you start picking up on other things ... indications that something is VERY wrong here, that something BAD has happened, or has been done, or is being done, or going to be ... teasing curiosity.
And then, oh wow. And then oh wow. After I read it, I had to contact the author because "wow" was pretty much all my stunned mind could manage.

You know that feeling when the bottom drops out from under? If you watched something like Sixth Sense or Unbreakable before knowing the spoilers, that feeling of jawdrop when you suddenly GOT it? The goosebumps, the stunned blinking, the tingling hollow cold rushing sensation right behind your sternum? THAT feeling?

That happens in this book. More than once. It is masterful, it is beautiful and awful, it is sweepingly and breathtakingly artistic, the impact of seeing some great natural wonder or work of art for the first time.

As I was reeling from it, awash in the awe, feeling dazed and vulnerable, the book then took a shrieking hard left into utter horror, and blew my mind like a dandelion puff.

-Christine Morgan



LAKE LURKERS by MP Johnson (2016 Severed Press / 80 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Okay, here’s the latest from author MP Johnson and Severed Press. And what do we have here? LAKE LURKERS is a strange little horror romp that takes place in a wealthy subdivision in Minneapolis. Tess is tired of living in a trashy, cramped one bedroom apartment. She has no room for activities and barely any amenities after issues with closing on her first property. She saves up everything she has and buys a mansion with more room and comfort than one could possibly imagine.

Although, there’s a catch: she's in a relationship and she lets her boyfriend, Randall move in, too. He’s annoying. He shreds metal riffs through loud guitar amps and doesn’t give Tess her much desired personal space in her castle. But, this isn’t the only issue Tess is being confronted with. No, there’s a secret lingering in the basement. A secret the previous owners failed to disclose in writing. It isn’t until discovering a black, oily slime in the backroom in her basement that Tess realizes she has other fish to fry (pun intended). People are dying outside, being pulled into the lake in front of her new big, beautiful house. Even the dumb cops are dying as they search for the answers needed to solve the big mystery. What are these slimy, black tentacle things made of pink brain meat? And why do they have so many teeth? And where in God’s name are they even coming from?

The extremely talented and versatile MP Johnson, takes us on a hard hitting, fast bullet flying, heavy metal guitar slinging, action-packed adventure, while Tess plans for the biggest, baddest, and not to mention most expensive rager of all-time, as she puts an end to the blazing madness lurking from the lake across the street.

-Jon R. Meyers



PRETTY PRETTY PRINCESS by Shane McKenzie (2016 Blood Bound Books / 202 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

Parents of young children, approximately how many repeat viewings of Elsa's Winter Wonderland Sing-Along or something does it take before the average adult ends up gibbering in the corner? Because, whatever the number, I fear the McKenzie household must have far surpassed it by now, and Shane was hardly an average adult to start with.

His previous book, MONSTERS DON'T CRY, was only a talking animal and a couple musical numbers away from being a classic (if warped, violent, depraved, and sexed-up) take on the basic, Disney Princess formula. Evidently, that still wasn't enough to get it out of his system, and the result is Pretty Pretty Princess.

In this storybook realm of scattered kingdoms divided by the dread Dark Wilderness, tradition demands every princess be locked away in a monster-guarded tower or dungeon, only to be married off to whichever bold knight rescues her. This doesn't always go well for the princess. Sometimes, it means years of solitude and captivity, malnutrition, and neglect.

One man is out to change the system: our 'hero,' Prince Francis. Shunned by his own royal parents for being more interested in peaceful pursuits, burdened with a less-than-macho reputation, with a tendency to spontaneously burst into song, he travels around -- accompanied by Gavin, a foul-mouthed base-natured talking pig -- in hopes of convincing princesses they deserve better treatment.

His big opportunity arrives when he ends up accidentally recruiting a bunch of mercenary warriors who intend to help him rescue the most legendarily beautiful of princesses, held lo these past twenty years by the terrible Goblin-Dragon.

To his surprise, he succeeds. But, far from any happily-ever-after, he finds his troubles are only beginning.

It is crass, vulgar, obscene, outrageous, offensive, lewd, crude, tacky, and generally about the wrongest most messed-up fairy tale since what Anne Rice did to Sleeping Beauty.

Which isn't to say it's porn; while there's sex and loads of jokes about and references thereto, they're rather far from erotic. There's also more groin injuries than a Jackass marathon, more poop and potty humor than several seasons of South Park, and a whole lot of gleeful gory carnage.

-Christine Morgan



THE NIGHT CYCLIST by Stephen Graham Jones (2016 TOR / 32 pp / eBook)

THE NIGHT CYCLIST was originally published online and recently brought to our reading pleasure as a Kindle Short on Amazon, where I decided to check it out as I was looking for something quick and short to read. This beautifully written story is told in first person and it's rather short, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it doesn’t pack a literary punch: it does.

Not being a huge fan of the author’s longer works as of yet, I have found that I do enjoy some of his shorter stories, this title no exception and is probably amongst my favorite that I've read. The author successfully manages to develop a couple of strong characters with a common interest; cycling. The main character, Bunny, a bachelor chef who has had countless failed relationships; one after another, is in for the ride of his life. He enjoys the nights’ sky on his rides to and from work, with his knife set strapped around his upper body, reminding him of the past when he was part of the team. Some of the most useful life lessons he’d ever learned came from his respected mentor in competition bicycling, Coach. The darker segments of the story begin to unfold when he stumbles across two dead bodies on his ride home from work, but he’s not the only one in town that’s been cooking. He decides to leave the bodies alone, lying there, as most bystanders would, in hopes, that someone else calls in and notifies the authorities, in which, a young gal does when she stumbles upon the scene.

When Bunny goes home and flips on the television he rewatches the true horror unfold, but something catches his eye in the footage. When he goes back out to see what he thought it was with his own two eyes, the author introduces us to a mysterious bicyclist, one Bunny can’t believe is able to do things on his bicycle much older than his, and what’s that smell? Immediately we get a sense of strong mystery and dread and begin to connect the strange characters to the corpses found in the creek. What were they doing and why? Well, you’ll just have to read it and find out for yourself. The secret may be worth killing for. 
Recommended to fans of Short Stories, Dark, Horror, and Weird Fiction alike.

-Jon R. Meyers



CHASING GHOSTS by Glenn Rolfe (2016 Sinister Grin Press / 144 pp / trade paperback & eBook)

This is a sneaky kind of book ... it starts off like it might be the classic small-town coming-of-age tale, boys on an adventure, uncovering dark secrets and creepy local history ... but the boys disappear, and the focus skip-jumps from there over to a band on their way to a gig at a weekend cabin party, with no idea what's lurking in the woods.

Meanwhile, the parents of one of the missing boys were having troubles of their own even beforehand, and this loss might be the last straw. The father, Derek, takes off on his bike, undecided if he's going to see his girlfriend, get drunk, look for his son, or what. He also ends up at the party, after an unsettling encounter with a lurking stranger by the road.

For most of those in attendance, it's an evening of booze, sex, music, and other recreational pursuits. For others, it's torture, mutilation, murder, and worse, at the hands of an inbred backwoods clan. Fairly standard stuff of its type, but entertainingly told, the interactions and banter among many of the characters are fun, and the ending makes for a nice surprise.

-Christine Morgan

PREVIEW:


SILENT SCREAMS by Josh Strnad (to be released 10/31/26 by Serpent and Dove)

The introduction to this anthology of 26 tales differentiates between two types of horror, the 'safe' (because we know it's fictional and can therefore keep a comfortable detachment) and the other kind (from which it isn't so easy to distance our psyches), and indicated this was a book of the latter sort.

Therefore, I was expecting a bunch of psychological horror, real-world plausible stuff, human monsters, killers, abuse, cruelty, the could-happens ... and found myself surprised by the number of them featuring more fantastical elements. Not necessarily a bad thing, just, also not necessarily matching that initial set-up. Anyway, fantastical elements aside, the emotions and experiences are what counts, and those were satisfyingly effective.

This time, I ended up with two tied-for-top fave picks. One is Igor Teper's "The Untelepathic Man," an unusual exploration of disability and difference, understanding. empathy, and society. Imagine being the only person in your community lacking a vital skill or major sense; what would that be like for you? What would it be like for everyone around you?

The other tied-for-fave is "The Words That Bite" by Frederick Obermeyer, an unusual apocalypse for everyone who ever got tired of the old 'sticks and stones' adage, in which the full destructive potential of words get unleashed, and what you say really can come back to bite you.

Other standouts include Helen Catan-Prugl's "The Lady in the Billboard," "Tyrant's Fall" by Andrew M. Seddon, "Moretta" by Aurora Torchia, "My Secret Thorns" by Rebecca Birch, and Chantal Boudreau's "Hand."

I also really liked Garth Upshaw's clever twist on some tropes in "Franks," though it ended much too soon; I'd definitely want to read more or longer works set in that world.

All in all, a nice variety, many more hits than misses as far as I'm concerned. Some new names to watch out for, too. Definitely worth a look.

-Christine Morgan



HALLOWEEN ORGY MASSACRE by Jeff O'Brien (2015 Riot Forge Studios / 136 pp / trade paperback)

Here is another fine example of it-is-what-it-says ... the title promises a Halloween Orgy Massacre, and you'd better believe that's exactly what you get. But, if you're thinking along the lines of standard slasher spree fare, you'll be in for more than a few surprises; things here go quite a ways off those rails.

I mean, we got weird goo-spewing toothy alien monsters here, we got cloyingly cute childrens' show characters, a scantily clad barbarian babe-mage, one of the few times I've read anything with a prophecy / destiny Chosen One shtick without totally wanting to claw out my own brain.

And, yes, we got orgy massacre all over the place. Something's turning people into sex maniacs, or murdering and devouring them, or both.

At first, the day seems like a crazy dream come true for nerdish metalhead Will, when the popular gal he's been crushing on is suddenly throwing herself at him, and he's got a chance to show all the cool kids at the big Halloween party he's not such a loser after all.

Okay, yeah, there are other weird things going on in town, like whatever blew a hole in the roof of the store where he works, and some cloaked mystery woman following him around, but, priorities are priorities.

My only issue with the book is a minor nit-picky one, which is that although it's set in the 1980s, a few uses of more contemporary dialect and slang sneak in. But, like I said, minor and nit-picky; everything else is popcorn-crunching giggles and gore.

-Christine Morgan


~~~~~~~~~~~