Sunday, December 27, 2015

The Top Ten Reads of 2015 (Part Two)

In the second installment of our TOP TEN series, staff writer Jon R. Meyers gives us his favorite reads of 2015.




MY TOP TEN BOOKS OF 2015
by Jon Meyers




10) TERRA INSANUS by Edward Lee. C’mon, guys. It’s Edward Freaking Lee. Although this was far from being my favorite Lee book, it is a great collection and something very different from one of my favorite authors writing books today.



9) CRYSTAL ROSE by T.S. Roberts. This was a great tale about a brilliant paranormal investigation. It was very well written and given the content it was unique and clever in all the right ways.



8) A GOD OF HUNGRY WALLS by Garrett Cook. In my opinion this is one of the best books Mr. Cook has written to date. Clever, different, and keeps the reader turning pages to find out what happens next. This was also one of the most unique narration points of view I’ve personally seen in a long time. Great book!



7) ZERO SAINTS by Gabino Iglesias. Zero Saints is the noir novel we’ve been missing for years!



6) CREEP HOUSE by Andersen Prunty. A great collection of unique, absurd, and horrific horror stories that manage to stand in a league of their own like most of Prunty’s other work. This is a great collection.



5) RITUALISTIC HUMAN SACRIFICE by C.V. Hunt. This is my favorite book from author C.V. Hunt to date. She manages to effectively write from the male point of view. The character depth is brilliantly executed. Overall this book is very unique, well written, and uncomfortable in all of the right ways to make for a great and enjoyable reading experience.



4) THE WRETCHED WALLS by Brian Kaufman. The Wretched Walls is a clever and unique tale set in a haunted Victorian age house. There were dark secrets in this once thriving Bordello of Blood, and a nice, creepy collection of vintage pornography hidden inside a black box in the walls.



3) THE NAMELESS DARK by T.E. Grau. A great collection of well written stories for fans of Dark Fiction and Horror alike.



2) FLOWERS IN A DUMPSTER by Mark Allan Gunnells. Mark Allan Gunnells is a brilliant writer. His collection of stories will haunt, terrorize, and make you laugh at the same time. Each tale is unique. The author manages to spin a tale like no other on the market today. This was one of my absolute favorite collections of the year.



1) THE BAZAAR OF BAD DREAMS by Stephen King. They don’t call him the King for nothing, duh.


~~~~~~~~~~~

1 comment:

  1. Two Dark Silo Books in the top ten? Bless you.

    Brian Kaufman
    Dark Silo Books

    ReplyDelete